The Most Dangerous German Shepherd in the World…

Posted: January 22, 2012 in Choosing a German Shepherd., Dog Training

  “Mr. Vaughan, is your German Shepherd dangerous?”     That question is usually one of the first two that I hear at every public demonstration that we do.  Adults never  ask that question.  I desperately wish that a parent WOULD ask me that question.  It’s almost always a 9 or 10 year old girl, who quickly follows up that question with “Can I pet him?”   

   My response to that little girl is nearly always the same.  “No…My dog is not dangerous to you.  Would you like to meet him?”

I will then give Hans his formal (and expected) command.  “„Hans! Gehen Sie Treffen. Sie ist mein Freund“.  (Hans, Go Meet. She is my friend.)  My  exhaustively well-trained (READ THAT PHRASE AGAIN,PLEASE)  two and a half year old German Shepherd enjoys 2 or 3 minutes of scratchies, tummy rubs, and kisses after which, he returns to my side and lays down to loud applause.   But this display is one of the things that creates The  Most Dangerous German Shepherd in the World.  The immediate response from children, (and not a few adults) is, “I want a German Shepherd!”   And that response is wonderful, as I don’t want children to fear my German Shepherd.  I do then proceed with a lecture on properly meeting a dog, how to treat Service dogs, and how Not to get Bitten.

I usually move on with the program after that, putting the dogs thru a few more behaviors or scent puzzles, or even a couple of cute tricks.  (Hans, whats on top of a house? – Woof!  Always gets a laugh).  Again, I desperately wish that a parent would ask me that question.   My answer would be very different, but for good reason.  I recently decided to include this warning at every one of our demonstrations, for the good of the breed.

I’ll pre-arrange for an adult to ask me if my German Shepherd is dangerous.  My answer will be clear, and without hesitation.

“My German Shepherd has spent his entire life being trained, disciplined, and taught proper behavior with people of all ages and types.  We work everyday to maintain that behavior, and it’s difficult work at times.  As his handler, I make sure that my mind-set is proper everyday, so that he will follow my lead without hesitation.  No, my well-trained German Shepherd is not dangerous until I tell him to be dangerous.”   (I’m not finished yet…)

“No, the Most Dangerous German Shepherd in the World is the one you saw photo’s of on Facebook, and then the breeders website.  You read about the puppies from other owners, how wonderful they are, how much love they give.  That dangerous little ball of love has brilliant blue eyes, floppy ears, a warm, pink belly, and is only 6 to 12 weeks old.  This dog is roly-poly, luxuriously soft to the touch, and has a prediliction to cuddling into your neck.  The smell of new German Shepherd Puppy is as intoxicating as Honeysuckle in the Summer.  This is the German Shepherd you are likely to meet at a top-notch breeders kennel.  You are going to fall head over heels in love, and you are going to thrill your children when you tell them to pick which one they want.  I almost guarantee that the puppy will be wonderful at first.  But then life will move back in.  Work, school, soccer practice, church, more soccer, shopping, school activities, another Saturday of Travel League hockey…and, oh yeah, the puppy is left behind in a crate.  Or in the house alone.  Or at an expensive day-care.  At some point, that beautiful little ball of blue-eyed fuzz, will become a tawny eyed, sofa-eating, carpet soiling, problem that you will see as an inconvenience at least.  Developing into something worse without attention…

It may happen differently.  You do integrate the puppy into your life successfully.  He rides in the van to soccer games, you even take him to work occasionally at your dog-friendly office.  As a puppy, he seems perfect.  You just wish that you had more time to train him…he’s started lunging at people or other dogs, barking innappropriately, he runs away from you in the yard, he refuses to walk on his leash.  “But Trainers are so expensive, and I can’t find one near my home anyway!  Maybe this dog wasn’t a good idea…Maybe it would be better to re-home him.  Or maybe the breeder will take him back…”

The word “re-home” , is no doubt, a construct of the 21st century, politically correct, throwaway society that we find ourselves in.  We are all about instant gratification, complete satisfaction, and constant convenience.  Dogs, especially large, working-type, high-drive dogs, offer all but three of those things left to their own devices.  The phrase at once repels me, and then gives me some modicum of hope…In the old days,  “Re-home ” would have been defined as “Get Rid of”.  A little later, it would have meant, “Undue an error in my judgement”.  Today, it means, “This dog doesn’t fit in my life, so it has to go where people will take care of it because I just don’t want the responsibility any longer.”  Sometimes, but not always… If a dog can successfully be brought out of that situation and given what it needs, then “Re-Home” becomes something good…But, truth be told, It’s rarely that easy.  Dog Rescue centers are packed to, and beyond capacity.

It was not my intention to write a piece that sounds accusatory, belittling, or angry.  But it is my goal to help people understand that a German Shepherd is not for everybody.  For that matter, a Dog is not for everybody.  It behooves everybody to really think it thru before you take that little furball home.  The responsibility, the expense, the necessity of Time and involvement.  Consider too, whether or not you have the mindset of a “Small Dog” owner.  Do you want a lap dog that will sit for hours without moving?  Think Basset hound.  Do you want a dog that rides in your purse and poops pellets?  Think Chihuahua.  Do you want beauty without needing extreme exercise?  Adopt a RETIRED Greyhound that has been sadly cast out because it no longer wins races.  Do you want to not have to consider “What do we do with the dog while we… ?(fill in the blank).  Get a Chia pet and have someone water it for you.

A German blessed Shepherd is decidedly not for everyone.   When trained, given adequate exercise, discipline and affection, (and that means ALOT of it)  the German Shepherd is everything wonderful you may have heard about from Facebook pages, websites, and owners.  But  a failing of those sites is this:  You don’t read about the setbacks in training, the weeks and months of effort and sacrifice that goes into the making of a well-behaved dog.  It’s Raining, cold, hard, reality up in here…but it’s for the best.

I am very fortunate to be friends with one of the finest breeders of German Shepherds in the known universe.  She has taken back puppies from purchasers, and it breaks her heart.  These are well-intentioned people, and she has an ability to read those who come to her looking for a German Shepherd puppy.  Like the rest of us mortals, she’s not always right and she is saddened by the times when a puppy of hers is returned for “behavior issues”, that probably are caused by a lack of commitment, or good judgement.  (Health issues are a very different matter.  She stands by the health of her dogs).  Those of us that work with dogs are saddened to see them cut off from their inherent abilities because the owner has no time for that kind of thing.

If this message prevents only One dog  and One family from having this heart-breaking situation, I will consider it a rousing success.  If some think the message harsh and unbending…Well, I can offer no apology for facts or forthright opinion.

If you and your family have made all the considerations, wieghed the responsibilities, and counted the costs, and still want a German Shepherd, you are in for a wonderful gift!!  There is no finer companion or four-legged partner that can be found!  If you determine that you just cannot take on the responsibility right now, try visiting an animal shelter near you, and play with the available dogs for a few moments!!  That will fulfill something for both of you!

"What? Me Dangerous?"

Comments
  1. Mary Rose says:

    Very nice article have had GSD in the past now have two goldies and a GSD big difference between the breeds, but I love them all.

    • Tina says:

      I totally agree with this article and your passion about the breed. I have owned 3 GSD’s my last one passed away in Jan and I miss her so much. All 3 of my shepherds were all well socialized I took them everywhere with me, I took them to positive reinforced obedience training school so I could learn how to train them with love. I would make sure they got plenty of exercise both mentally and physically. I would come home at lunch and play ball or go to the park down the street. They never stayed home for long periods of time alone. I believe no dog should spend a long time in their crates it just isn’t good for them.

  2. I completely agree with your article, and perhaps dog licenses should be issued for dog ownership rather than the dogs themselves. Too many “re-homed” are sent to shelters to be destroyed, as you know. Some end up with die-hard dog people with soft hearts and holes in the head. Like us.

    We recently had to euthanize our 2nd GSD rescue when his DM took away too much of his pride and function. Our first was 8 yrs old when we sadly released her from perianal fistulae and severe hip dysplasia. Number 2 got the chance to partially train #3, a 5 month old black sable with absolutely no socialization and almost no house-training, tied outside from 3 to 5 months without enough social interaction. Trouble? Yes. All of them, mostly separation anxiety to begin with as well as malnutrition and lack of trust. Cost? My one and only charge card is for vet bills and emergencies only…and I’ll be paying for years.

    Would we turn down Sallie, Chief, or Jazz Baby if we could do it again? Maybe, but probably not. We knew then and know now just how much work it is, how costly, and what the pay-out is: a creature who would walk through the gates of Hell for us and who can make us laugh just by sticking their tongues out a certain way.

  3. Lynnda M says:

    I so agree with you and I wish people would read your article before adopting any large dog. My breed is the Pit Bull and has mis-understood, but like the GSD the cute little puppy is cute till it starts acting out for attention that it doesn’t get enough of because life intervenes. Not enough excercise and little or no disipline and then they are brought to out rescue with the statement, we just don’t have time or the kids are taking care of him so we are re-homing him, or the ever present we’re moving and they don’t take large dogs, would you move into a place that didn’t take kids and re-home them?? I’m glad to read the comments of a few that do recognize that it takes daily training of your dog and yourself and should not be taken lightly, education is the key and thank you for trying to do just that.

  4. Wendy says:

    With over 30 years of GSD experience, I LOUDLY applaud this piece. I would get comments “I would get a dog if he were like this one.” I reply..you can..IF you put in the work. Usually I just tell people that “No, you don’t want one” and proceed to talk about the long adolesence and daily training. Some people don’t believe that I spend at least 20 minutes every day working on straight obedience, even though my current dogs are 9 & 4. “But they’re so well behaved!” Exactly..I make sure of it. Kudos to you..I’m sharing this one

  5. Rachel K says:

    I have two amazing German Shepherds, my oldest is now 10 1/2, and the other is 8 1/2. They are a blessing in my life. However, I completely agree with everything you said. A German Shepherd, or any dog for that matter is not for everyone. They require a life time commitment, and the commitment of training, exercise, discipline, and exercise. Every dog needs a good human leader and they in turn will be the best companion you could ever ask or hope for.

  6. Wonderful, beautifully written and well stated post! Will re-post and share often! I love German Shepherds wholeheartedly, breed, train, and compete nationally and can only say Thank you for this post!

  7. altairah says:

    I have a Belgian Malinois, and this article reflects his needs as well. Too often people admire him, and just they’re leaving, say “I want one of those”. I feel obliged to chase after them saying “no, you don’t!”, which can be awkward. But in all honesty, this isn’t at all like having a dog, it’s much more like having a demanding child, personal trainer, and large unsheathed knife at your side, all day, every day. My dog is a Service Dog, but even with all the training he’s received, his behavior is something I am constantly monitoring and adjusting as needed. We have bad days. We’ve had retrainings and resocializations. But we have the best working relationship I’ve ever had; lightyears past what my labs could do. So I take responsibility for having a very demanding dog, as my very demanding dog takes responsibility for me.

  8. Tracy says:

    Amazing article! Even my GSD read it with me! Blaize has been a huge blessing in my life, and I am thankful for the day I found him lonely, walking the streets, because that day when no one claimed him at the shelter, he became mine! I will always have GSD’s in my life, as they are my life. He is my fur son!

  9. Lynda Lyons says:

    The comment from Kat Peterson is so great!if all breeders would do what she does all the GSDs would be so much better off. I have 2GSDs that I’ve had from pups..they are ten years old now they are adopted from a rescue league…their parents were abused and starved by some drug dealers! Those in it for the money should be banned…it truly should be for the love of the breed or any breed of dog for that manner.
    Robert I also have certainly enjoyed reading this and agree with what you say.i was raised with a GSD and they will always have my heart. Please keep up your awesome work!

    • Kat Peterson says:

      Thank you Lynda Lyons. Yes breeders of all types of dogs must start standing up for their breeds. Fighting for them, so they are happy and healthy for life. Sadly money becomes part of the issue, (dog fighting, puppy mills, designers dogs ) So evil and mean people try to make a quick buck and a Person who thinks they can handle a GSD cant. Our society has become a throw away when your done with something. Sadly that mind set is now affecting our dogs they are to pay the price. I sadden by all the elder GSDS taken to shelters because the owners could not deal with an older dog. It makes me wonder, what do their children think when they see this? Throwing away a perfectly good dog because its old? Sad Sad Sad. Thank you for writing an excellent piece on not everyone should own a GSD. Thank you.
      Kat and her pack.

  10. Sue says:

    I love that someone finally posted something about these magnificent working dogs that hopefully will help with the decision of what kind of dog to “buy their child”. I have had GSDs all my life and they all took a considerable amount of time to train and socialize…but the effort was there and the results successful. My most recent GSD is a White GSD rescue….she came from the “South” and I adopted her from way up “North” when she was 4.5 months old. She is now a little over 2 yrs old and in constant training and socializing. She came to me with several issues which is a compounded challenge in training a GSD. She was adorable as a pup and still is adorable but she is also a HUGE responsibility to me as an owner when mingling with people, other dogs, etc. I am constantly “on” when we are socializing due to her issues. I am determined to make her a well balanced dog and she has progressed more than most would have thought she would. With all this said, any dog is a HUGE responsibility but the working dog is more of a challenge and needs as much time as it will take to ensure a well balanced dog.

  11. Mary C says:

    As an admirer of the GSD, I am so glad I read this article. It’s a reality check for me – someone who has never owned a shepherd. I know this breed may, sadly enough, not be the breed for me. I can appreciate their beauty & intelligence & I absolutely adore watching them in the show ring at Westminster, but I simply don’t have the time to invest in the training this breed would require. Thank you so much for opening my eyes! Now I can focus on finding a breed that would work with my lifestyle! A win-win for me and my future pup!! :)

  12. Michelle says:

    This article is true in every point… except maybe one. I am a GSD Rescue Volunteer and foster home.

    I was blessed with Nala; my first GSD, that fit my ‘mode’ so well that she is still in my heart and mind every day – she was laid back, loving, very friendly but yet protective w/out being overly aggressive, and super smart. She passed 5 years ago at age 11. Now Josey is a complete polar opposite but she is deeply loved none the less!

    Josey is what they call HIGH DRIVE – I call that psycho mode. If she’s sitting still and not being her usual Nosey Josey self, something is wrong. Josey won’t normally sit for a scratch, she’s too worried she’ll miss something. She is VERY protective of me, territorial, and food motivated with a high prey drive. At 6 she hasn’t slowed at all. Oh she’s probably smarter than Nala too… dangerously smart at times. lol

    There is a spectrum of the GSD breed – not all are one way and the mold isn’t set in stone. So I disagree with the author that EVERY GSD requires all that he implies they do. They are definitely worth the investment of time and energy – don’t get me wrong that it’s not needed to some degree, but some are easier than others to train and live harmoniously with.

    Had I gotten Josey first, I would not have gotten into rescue or had a Nala because our ‘mode’ is not on the same wave length. I would have shied away from owning a breed that needs (assumed) far more than I can offer w/ my schedule and lifestyle. But because I still hold my Nala in my heart, I know even Josey cannot alter my opinion of the breed or keep me from continuing to own GSDs.

    Despite our differences, I adapt, she adapts, WE adapt. It works because WE make it work. :)

    But the message to really, really consider all aspects of GSD ownership is spot on… one never knows if you’ll get a Nala or a Josey, but either are worth it in my opinion.

  13. Shari says:

    What an outstanding article. We have an 8-year-old German Shepherd who we got as a puppy and who we love dearly. But despite our efforts, we dropped the ball in some areas. For example, we did not socialize her enough with small children and therefore we do not trust her with kids. (She has never bitten anyone or otherwise been in trouble, but she is jumpy around children.) We are able to work around this and are still able to enjoy her, but the message cannot be reiterated often and firmly enough that German Shepherds are a lot of work and even when you think you have done enough training, sometimes it still isn’t enough.

  14. Mark G says:

    I read this and agree with you but with additional comments. It’s not just the shepherd that is like this. All of the belgian sheepdogs are this way as are rottweilers and any other dog with a desire to protect it’s pack. So yes, a GSD requires a lifetime commitment and daily training but no more then a doberman, rottweiler, belgian sheepdog, etc. A dog is a lifetime commitment. Sadly, people don’t realize this and they don’t spend the necessary time and/or money to ensure the dog is happy and you never have surprises.

    Oh, and let’s not talk about Pit Bulls and PB mixes. They never get training and it’s so very important for them.

    • Robert says:

      I agree with you Mark!!! This blog is German Shepherd -centric, but only because thats my experience! But it applies too ALL Breeds! Some of my most loyal and valued readers are from the Poodle World!!! I love ‘em all! Thanks for reading!

  15. Very well written, I own 4 working line and 1 Canadian Show line I could not agree more with this!

  16. JenniferT says:

    I deeply miss my GSDs, but now isn’t my time for another. This is perfectly written, and I hope it does exactly what the author intends it to do…save at least ONE puppy life from landing in unprepared hands.

  17. Tinus Boer says:

    I’m one of those people who adopted a Mastiff rescue dog but had no idea of what was involved in living with one of these large animals. At the point where we considered ‘re homing’ her, we met a trainer who offered to teach us how to integrate this animal into our life. Since OUR education began things have done a 180 turn and now, with US having been trained life with our Mastiff is great. She’s wonderful, loving, well behaved and a pleasure to have as part of the family. Just remember, we had to make a commitment to a large expenditure of time. Well worth it.

  18. Beth says:

    I <3 your article. It breaks my heart to see so many of my beloved breed dumped at the shelters. I just rescued a beautiful sable from the shelter who has megaesophagus and was kept as a kennel only dog. She is now a princess who lives in our house.

  19. A well written and truthful piece. We have two wonderful G.S.D. who thanks to many hours of training. Have turned into the best dogs we have had the pleasure of being owned by.

  20. kathy says:

    I wish that some children, had the same training and attitude that my two beautiful GSD have (they are 4 and 8). People must remember that the animal responds tp the human. Remember any young animal (including human) is a product of how it was raised as a young & innocent baby/puppy/kitten.

  21. AussieSibe says:

    Fantastic article. And could so easily be applied to my breed – the Siberian Husky. That adoring, snuggly, BEAUTIFUL puppy grows in a strong, independent dog. If you can’t/don’t want to cope with that, then please, PLEASE just enjoy patting someone else’s dog and leave it at that.

  22. As a breeder who screens her puppy buyers very very carefully! I turned down lots of people because their not GSDS owners. I get the meanest looks and comments of well We will just find another breeder. Fine you do that. At least my pups are pretty much set for life with a great owner, who has had GSDs in past and know how much work it is to have the best dog in the world. By the way, I also do a lot of GSD rescue work because of the breeders out there that are in it for the buck and not the puppy they created in life. I see Breeders selling to 83 year old women who has never had a GSD in her life. I see a buyer who works tons of hours at work and can not even think of what it means to the poor dogs stuck in crates or in the house all day. I had a potential buyer yesterday that wanted a puppy, Working lines for his 12 year old Lab who has never lived with another dog in her life. Oh yeah she is going to love that energetic bundle of fur, Chances are they will take the old dog to the shelter and may be kind to the pup. Nope sorry you can not have one of my pups. Go and buy some other poor Dogs babies. Breeders must start doing their jobs like their supposed to too. Screen your buyer, have in you contract you will take the dog back no matter what. And if I find out my pups in living outside, chained up to a tree I can and have taken my dogs back for abuse, negligent and starving the poor dogs.

    Kat and her pack.

    • Jerry says:

      Wonderful article. We have owned GSD’s for 20+ years and you are spot on. The best breed on the planet if given the care and attention needed.

      Great reply by Kat Paterson. You also need to screen your breeder. If that breeder isn’t asking you questions like Kat, you need to find another breeder. We are interviewing breeders for our next dog. It’s unbelievable. Some have the right dog for us but never asked a single question, others that I can’t get any kind of reply out of and one that is asking me all the right questions but has multiple litters at the same time, which I am having a hard time with.

  23. I rarely read blogs as well, but this was literally hitting the proverbial nail on head. I am always asked “does your dog bite?” My answer is; all dogs bite. To adults I remind them that dogs can be a loaded weapon especially large ones. I get that a small dog bites, however the chances of them taking a child down off their bike and getting their neck or face is small, a large dog however; can cause injury with one jump. I know we all have our opinions on training, however the idea of putting a large dog in a crate; even as a puppy, is the cruelest laziest thing that is done.
    The gentlemen that said he waited until he was retired to get his GSD is beyond brilliant. Unfortunately most people while working do not have time for a dog, add on kids etc and they really are beginning the neglecting cycle of a dog. William Wegman stated “if you want a Weimaraner, quit your job, change all your hobbies to those that involve dogs and be prepared to leave your couch!” I believe this is good advice for anybody thinking of any breed!

  24. astridchristina says:

    Reblogged this on Astrid Christina.

  25. Helina says:

    Wow,as the owners of two gsd’s, this would have to be one of the best write ups I’ve read. We have an 18mth old that we have had since a pup,and now have a 3 1/2 yr old rescue boy. The time and commitment invested in this breed(or any dog really),is HUGE,but then we receive that commitment straight back from them ten fold. It makes me sick when people advertise their dog because they can’t get a rental,or new baby is coming,etc. I hope more people keep reading your work.

  26. Toni Wyatt says:

    I am so glad you wrote this. You were in no way being harsh, just very truthful. I have seen so many dogs of all breeds tied up to a tree or a dog house with no human contact and it totally breaks my heart. If only people would read this or do their research before getting a large dog. And just like you said if you commit to your dog you will have no better pleasure and no better companion. Thanks

  27. It’s possible to become more informative since this. There are many a few some tips i may understand simply reading your own wonderful write-up

  28. Generally I don’t read post on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very compelled me to take a look at and do so! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thanks, quite nice article.

  29. Renee says:

    Having had 5 German Shepherds over the years there’s been a new sofa partially eaten, shoes left mateless, socks and underwear carried over the house, counters surfed, nips, scratches and sometimes the most stubborn behavior in the world. However, each and every one has left an indelible mark of love and devotion on my heart. Along with my shepherds I’ve rescued, raised and loved a variety of other dogs that have made my life richer by far. But I must say there is something so loving, almost intoxicating, about life with a German Shepherd dog. They bring so much to the table you hope you can live up to how these dogs see you. Thanks for a great article.

  30. Tom Van Cleef says:

    this is just truth, plain and simple. re reading this post i so wish parents would ask the question as well, and too teach the importance of getting permission to approach. At times when children walk directly up, i stop them and ask the parents, if my dog bit your child because you did not teach them to ask….what happens is I lose my dogs!

  31. Lesley says:

    I waited until I retired to get my first German Shepherd. We have spent lots of time together and I take him almost everywhere. We spent some time training with Ross Allen in his second year. Kaos is an amazing dog. Not overexcitable and will let anyone pat him. I still do some training every day, just so he doesn’t forget. He is much admired, especially when he waits patiently outside shops and cafes. Your advice is good. Don’t get one unless you have the time, energy and patience to train the dog.

  32. Janet Hinkley says:

    My beautiful 97 pound sable female German shepherd came from the pound and she was 2 years old when I adopted her (now 4 1/2). I trained her in obedience, basic and intermediate, and then in agility, and now she is a therapy dog. Today we went to a circus and festival with her and there were 40,000 people there. She wove in and out of people, strollers, wheelchairs, wagons, horses, cages of tigers, the petting zoo, and sat on the curb and watched a very noisy parade. Kids ran up to her and petted her without getting permission first, babies pulled her tail, kids surprised her with sudden kisses on her face, people ran over or stepped on her feet or tail. Not once did she react except to wag her tail. She was totally calm and walked next to my husband all day, as I had my equally calm Labrador retriever at my side. We got many comments on the beauty and behavior of our dogs.

  33. Tapan Patnaik says:

    Very well written and very useful article. From my childhood days I have been a great admirer of GSD but for the reasons sited above I have restrained myself from owning one and have compromised by having different breed.

  34. Naomi says:

    You have reaffirmed my intentions to wait to adopt a German Shepherd puppy until I am able to not work outside the home. I have loved the breed since adopting a German Shepherd mix 14 years ago then losing him just about a year ago. With both kids young adults now and on with their lives, I want to have the time to train with a dog (yes, train me AND him…lol) and make sure he can be a great example of everything good about the German Shepherd breed. Thank you for voicing exactly what I know is the right thing to do, and now I will go and spoil my lhapso apso (13 years old). He and our Ranger were great pals, and i know he still misses him as we all do.

  35. Kristina L says:

    I love German Shepherds (we had them when I was a kid), but I don’t have enough time for one now, so I don’t have one. I get my “Shepherd” fix from reading about them on Facebook. They’re loving and wonderful and empathetic, but they’re high energy and need a lot of exercise and attention.

    • nicole says:

      Same with me. I’d love one but if I’m being honest now is not the time and unfortunately probably will never be the time. I LOVE GSD but I don’t want to spend the time to exercise and train them like I know they need, so I too get my fix by looking at them available on facebook and hopefully I can help with donations and transports. Most people lie to themselves. About everything.

  36. julie says:

    AMEN! I wish everyone was required to read this BEFORE they decided to add a dog, especially a working dog to there family.

  37. Shannon C says:

    I think your article was very well written. I am the proud owner of an 8 yr old GSD. He is the most loyal and for the most part well behaved dog. It has been an everyday train.img exercise for us both. He is the best and I love home deeply. You are right about making sure that they are the fight dog for you first. Thank you for writing this article.

  38. Denine Phillips says:

    You are the voice of reason, Robert, and a true ambassador for the breed. There wasn’t a single sentence that didn’t resonate. I hope prospective shepherd owners, specifically first-time owners, read this post.

  39. Susan says:

    As the owner of a two-year-old German Shepherd, I wholeheartedly agree. Training and exercising my dog is a daily activity. I’d also like to mention that German Shepherds are innately protective and alert. Some people become uncomfortable when my well behaved dog is in a down/stay position, but stares at them! They are also highly intelligent and playful. Like any dog, they require consistency in their training. I’m glad Robert is going around and educating people.