Tribute to Ray,Hans, Holly, and The Omorrow…

Posted: June 10, 2012 in Writing about Dogs.

Now what is he up to?

Bear with me German Shepherd lovers everywhere…I want to break from the canine world for a single post, and share with you why I write about German Shepherds.  I also write other things, but you’ll need to go elsewhere to read those…

Ray Bradbury

With the recent passing of Ray Bradbury, so passed a mentor to me.  Reading his books in school, I was always mesmerized by his fearlessness with the written word.  I’m certain that he regularly filled garbage bins with his rejected pages, only to return to the grains of brilliance that he knew were still there.  He would then recreate the idea again, and soon flesh out details, and abandon the detritus.  A favorite quote from Bradbury always inspires me:

“If you want to write, if you want to create, you must be the most sublime fool that God ever turned out and sent rambling. You must write every single day of your life. You must read dreadful dumb books and glorious books, and let them wrestle in beautiful fights inside your head, vulgar one moment, brilliant the next. You must lurk in libraries and climb the stacks like ladders to sniff books like perfumes and wear books like hats upon your crazy heads. I wish you a wrestling match with your Creative Muse that will last a lifetime. I wish craziness and foolishness and madness upon you. May you live with hysteria, and out of it make fine stories — science fiction or otherwise. Which finally means, may you be in love every day for the next 20,000 days. And out of that love, remake a world.”  ―    Ray Bradbury

 

I clearly have found, as Bradbury states, ” craziness and foolishness and madness”  with my  German Shepherds.  “Hysteria” has certainly been a frequent visitor while we trained our four-legged family.  And the crazy gumbo of that mixture has inspired my writing back to a prominent place in my life.

Hans of Omorrow…

Thank you Mr. Bradbury.  Your fearlessness, your creativity, your intuition about subject, have, and will always inspire me.  Hans…my beloved friend and four-footed doppelgänger, you have given me more subjects to write and share  than I could ever ask for…Your sense of adventure, your willingness to charge ahead fearlessly have re-invigorated things I’d thought I’d grown out of.

Holly, my sweet baby girl, you are “only a dog”, but your enthusiasm to learn and learn some more, gives me impetus to live the same way…Learn, learn, learn, everyday!!!  And then, when I physically spent, lay on the floor and chew the day into submission.  Followed by a long nights sleep…

Holly of Omorrow.

Lastly, and yet most profoundly.  Thank you to The German Shepherds of the Omorrow, and their breeder Rhonda Sellers.  When I found you, it seemed as though it was something that had to be.  You have given me things in life that would never have happened, were it not for your enthusiasm, your passion for the great German Shepherd Dog, and the absolute heart that goes into what you do…My life would be diminished had you not been a part of it…

My profound thanks to all  of you…I promise to continue wrestling with this writing muse everyday, embracing the craziness and madness it takes to succeed.  Thanks to all of you for following me on my journey!

 

 

Comments
  1. Hope Lozzio says:

    Ditto Ditto Ditto!! You have SO many gifts… but I think your greatest… is that you’re SO willing to share them ALL!! ❤ your work, Robert! THANK YOU!!

  2. omorrow says:

    Our dear Robert, you have had such a profound impact on Omorrow Shepherds and it’s huge pack..You keep us laughing, make us cry and provoke deeper thought. When you do not have pen in hand, you are selfless, always willing to help in too many ways to count. We have all come to depend on you.. Never stop writing, it is one of the greatest of your many gifts. If it is madness that keeps you who you are, may the entire world go mad..