An Opportunity To Learn that I’m Grabbing with Both Hands.

Posted: April 6, 2014 in Uncategorized

Some of you already know that as of April 7th, 2014, I am officially attending the National K-9 School for Dog Trainers in Columbus, Ohio.  It is an opportunity that I can’t pass up, an opportunity to learn and grow as a Canine Professional.  The school itself has been open since 1975, and many of you reading this post are  alumni yourselves.  The walls of the school have your names on brass plaques as graduates for all to read.  I know that you are proud of going thru this prestigious school, and you have every right to be.  My view of education is this:  Completing this rigorous school will be a launching pad to MORE education, gathering experience, learning from others.  Graduation will not be an end, but a beginning, and I’m going to put everything I have into my studies while I’m there, and give myself the satisfaction of being an eager learner.  I plan on asking the hard questions, and the opinions of a variety of people from differing backgrounds and experiences.  I hope to finish school as a better trainer, handler, and dog-person, and I’m sure I will.

I’m not certain how much of my experience I’ll be able to share here, as I have not yet commiserated with school administration about what I can write.  Hopefully I will be able to share my experience with you, while honoring the proprietary requirements of National K-9.  Whatever I am allowed to report, I’ll certainly do so eagerly.  Maybe I can inspire somewhere here to pursue your own canine dreams!

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
  1. Lynn S says:

    I’ll be interested to hear how your experience goes. It’s only been about 3 years since I’ve been and gone. Are you taking one of your dogs, or borrowing one?