“So mad I can’t decide which rant to rant first.” Or, “Justanother day of Dog training for a living.”

Posted: October 2, 2014 in Uncategorized

I’m going for this subject first, because if I don’t, I’ll end up on the 6 o’ clock news under the heading “BREAKING NEWS”.

In the war of Training methods, there are large skirmishes.  Then there are guerrilla attacks of a smaller nature.  Then there are pissing matches.  To whatever degree people want to fight over “Balanced”, “Purely Positive”,or any other method in use, have a good time.  I’m no longer involving myself or my practices in time wasting internet bickering. I’m TOO BUSY working with dogs. You can “Click” or “Bonk” yourself into a stupor for all that I care.  There, that addresses trainers, and wanna-be-trainers.

Now for the people that own dogs and want them to be well-behaved dog-citizens of polite society.  The ones that seek out a qualified trainer to help them achieve just such a dog.  Here is my plea:

I CANNOT GIVE YOU A PERFECTLY TRAINED AND WELL BEHAVED DOG IF YOU WON”T SUPPORT THE TRAINING AFTER WE HAVE FINISHED OUR END OF THE BARGAIN AND HANDED YOU OVER THE LEASH.  STOP MAKING SKILLED TRAINERS RESPONSIBLE FOR YOUR NEGLECT.

That feels somewhat better.

It stems from a recent experience of two trainers that had earlier taken on a certain dog that had been totally lacking in impulse control, most obedience, and proper dog etiquette.  The owner paid for a shorter than recommended program to address these issues.  Well, the trainer accomplished bit more than they had even hoped for in the short time, and were quite pleased.  The day came for the trainee and his owner to take go home, and the training session proofed the dogs behaviors before their very eyes.   Three follow-ups were scheduled at that time as well.  They took home a much improved pet that, with the training they were provided for practicing, would have resulted in years of happiness.  This is where things fall apart.

The follow-up visits were never held.  The owner went home and promptly stopped working the dogs obedience at home.  No doubt they began to see a return to improper behaviors.  Instead of following up, and admitting that they were being lazy, they sought out other answers.  From, undoubtedly less expensive and/or Miracle promising “trainers/behaviorists”.  Forward now several months later.

The owner and dog in question return to the original place of training for Day care services.  Thrilled to see their trainee return, the original trainer takes the dog for a pleasant walk to see how the dog has hopefully progressed.  Sadly, the dog has NOT even retained what was taught.  And, instead of the slip-chain training collar that was used to teach a proper heel, and not to PULL LIKE A DRAFT HORSE, the owner, (and the teenaged pet-walker she employs) have instead opted for a HARNESS.  Because, “It’s All-Positive.”   It was explained that they had decided to try a “University level  Behaviorist” to help the dog in this manner.  They could count on a perfect dog, and not need to work the dog themselves.  Just add Behaviorist, and magic happens

FINE.

Folks, teaching your dog proper behaviors is my job.  I love it.  I work hard at it.  I’m always learning new technique, and honing my skills.  But you are wasting my time and energy when you don’t take up your end of the leash.  I’d say you’re wasting your money as well, but it pays my salary, so there’s no waste.

However, if what you want is a robotic  drone that obeys your every command without hesitation, I would suggest a robotic vacuum cleaner.  Not a dog.  If you neglect your vacuum, the battery dies and your floors get dirty.    If you neglect the nice dog that I taught good behaviors too, that dog will return to counter-surfing, pulling you down the road, and firing off at everything under the sun.  Simple.  Is that my fault?  Not One Little Bit.  Will I ultimately pay the price for your neglect?  Absolutely.  Your bad word of mouth to another trainer or “behaviorist” are quite damaging to my reputation for no other reason than your laziness and neglect.  (I suspect that this technique is being widely used by “behaviorist” and Veterinarians that want to prescribe Prozac type drugs to your dog to solve his “issues”.)  { SEE AN UPCOMING RANT ON THIS}

The Purely Positive acolytes also do this, desperately removing any sort of training collar or equipment, recoiling in horror, and pontificating on “No Corrections!!  Just Ignore Bad Behavior!!!”

You know what?  If you seriously want a well-behaved dog…Help me do MY job, by DOING YOURS.  Or buy a chia-pet…

This rant brought to you by the good people at “Bite Me  Dogsports, where attitude rules…”

Comments
  1. Well said, dog training requires hard work, expertise and experience dealing with stupid humans. Dog Power.