Steroids for Dogs: Dangerous Medicine.

Posted: February 4, 2017 in Uncategorized

Recently, it has been my unfortunate opportunity to see a series of photo’s of a magnificent German Shepherd that has been decimated of it’s luxurious coat after being treated for a series of symptoms:  Allergies, Inflammation, and digestive problems of some sort.  Stop…One moment of digression before I proceed.

I am NOT a Veterinarian.  I have never claimed to be one.  But I AM well-read, well-educated in Research of a wide variety of disciplines, and an enthusiastic student of the world around me.  What I am about to write about should not be viewed as a veterinary opinion, nor am I diagnosing the dog mentioned above with any specific problem.  This is my opinion based upon the writings of several veterinary professionals, researchers, and others that I have commiserated with on this specific subject.  Take it as a “springboard” to doing your own research, and doing your own detective work.

The dog in question has massive loss of hair, and inflammation.  It is heartbreaking.  Frustrating to the owner, frustrating to the dog.  And expensive.  When the dogs history is given, even to the most rudimentary degree, it is suspected that this dog has been, and is, being treated with catabolic steroids, for its symptoms.

This article is not specifically about that dog, (which I am not qualified to diagnose, nor am I attempting to do so), but rather, about the use of steroids in veterinary medicine.  This individual dogs’ case brought about this subject, and I have decided to give you my educated “opinion” of the use of these oft prescribed drugs.  Take from it what you will.

 

Weight-lifters, Baseball sluggers, football players, and other sports figures have long known about the effects of Anabolic steroid use.  They are used to produce massive muscle formation, bulk, and strength.  They work.  Period.  But the side effects often prove to be disasterous

Comments are closed.